Chip Manning has been playing in Highlands, North Carolina.

Chip Manning, a member of the Huntsville Pickleball Club, has been playing in Highlands, North Carolina for a couple of weeks. He had the opportunity to play pickleball with Mima Jaušovec, the 1977 (tennis) French Open winner. In doubles, he and his PB partner were victorious twice and then her team won four times. Mima and Chip played as partners and they won. To quote Chip “So far my biggest claim to fame in PB!”.

Senior Center Fund Raiser.

The Senior Center Fundraiser will be held on Saturday,  August 5,  2017 at the Jackson Center at 6:00 PM.

Click the link below to view the flyer for further information.

Senior_Center_Fundraiser_2017_Flyer

If you do not want to attend the fundraiser but want to make a donation, please make the check payable to the Senior Center with auction on the memo line.

The address is:

Huntsville Madison County Senior Center
2200 Drake Avenue
Huntsville,  Alabama, 35805

The fundraiser and donations will be used to support senior center programs and make them affordable for all.

Thank You

What happens if I drop my paddle on the court?

This has been asked a few times recently. If I drop my paddle on the court, it is a point for the other team? Is it considered a fault? The answer is no. It is not considered a fault if you drop anything on your side of the court, including your paddle. If the item lands on the opponent’s court, it is a fault. If the item lands in the non-volley zone as a result of a volley, it is a fault. Here is the pertinent information from the International Federation of Pickleball rulebook, last revised June 15, 2016.

12.F. Player Equipment Problem. A rally shall not be
stopped or affected if a player loses or breaks a paddle
or loses a personal item.

12.G. Items on the Court. If anything a player is wearing or
carrying lands on the court, it becomes part of the court.
Therefore, if a ball in play hits the item on the court, the
ball remains in play. If the item lands on the opponent’s
court, it is a fault. If the item lands in the non-volley
zone as a result of a volley, it is a fault.